• Scenatet presents
  • Interludium
  • by Jeppe Ernst
  • Passage Festival
  • August 6, 2023


Concert Walks

The Concert Walks are an interactive series of concerts combining music, movement, and stories tailored to the unique atmosphere of the specific sites of the walks. Premiered at GEIST Glorup in May 2013, the Concert Walks have taken place in several different locations: the grimy industrial architecture surrounding Astrid Noacks Atelier on the outskirts of Nørrebro, Copenhagen; among the streams, bridges, fishponds, and surprisingly vibrant greenery of the park on the roof of the Warsaw University Library; through the beautiful landscape surrounding Konstepidemin in Gothenburg.

The Concert Walk-concept is developed by Scenatet’s founder and curator Anna Berit Asp Christensen and arranged as walks in which small musical surprises pop up on carefully selected spots in an area. The unique combination of a musical program and a walk creates a new kind of encounter between music and audience. The Concert Walk mix music with its surroundings, creating a completely new and interesting situation in the intersection of art, music, nature and urban environments and cultural heritage.

The Concert Walks are supported by New:Aud and the Culture Programme of the European Union.



“Eating a Man” [..] was crazy. Spor Festival 2021 did not offer tasty tapas, but went for the main course: The urge to perform spills out of the works being written today, the musicians refuse to be reduced to mediators, and the composers want to be there where it happens”

“Christensen’s music teases the attention rather than demanding it in a big forte fortissimo. Similarly, it was also clear that something important is at stake in Eating a Man. But it was liberatingly unclear whether the gaze is directed at Christensen himself as a form of cathartic self-insight or at a prejudiced and xenophobic outside world.”

Magasinet Opulens

“Tonen slogs direkt an i Christian Winther Christensens kammaropera Eating a Man. Denna hade premiär i en första version på Spor 2009 och kretsade då kring en ritual att äta en människa för att på så vis låta denna leva vidare efter sin död. Sedan dess har tonsättaren bildat familj och denna levnadssituation utgjorde i den nya versionen en utvidgad fond där en snabbuppspelning av familjens filmade vardag kring mat- och arbetsbordet ställs mot det sceniska i form av sångerskan Clara Stensgaard, mamman i familjen. Genom denna dubbelexponering skapas en sällsam reflektion kring tid, förgänglighet och kanske uppoffring för den andra eller sin nästa. Allt är tonsatt med Winther Christensens typiska subtila klanger och musikaliska motiv.”


Performers: My Hellgren (vlc), Vicky Wright (cl), Rowland Sutherland (fl), Matias Seibæk (perc), Fei Nie (pno), Kasia Ziminska (vio), Clara Stensgaard (voc)
Composer: Christian Winther Christensen
Staging and direction: Anna Berit Asp Christensen
Video: Christian Winther Christensen and Anna Berit Asp Christensen
Light design: Maria Pi Houmann
Technical Manager: Mette Hornbek Hansen
Performance images: Marc Fluri

Supported by

The Creative Europe programme of the European Union, Sounds Now, The Danish Arts Foundation, Augustinus Fonden, KODA Cultur and William Demant Fonden.